What is Gluten?

Gluten is a group of proteins found in certain grains such as barley, wheat, and rye. It is responsible for the elasticity and texture of dough and is also used as an additive in the food industry to improve the texture of baked products. Recently, the term “gluten-free” has become widespread due to the prevalence of celiac disease, a condition where the immune system attacks gluten, leading to damage to the small intestine and a decline in nutrient absorption.

Besides celiac disease, there are other conditions including gluten intolerance and food sensitivities towards gluten, which are not celiac but manifest symptoms such as digestive disorders, fatigue, headaches, and other symptoms.

Therefore, people who suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance must avoid consuming foods and beverages containing gluten. A gluten-free diet requires careful selection of food types, ingredients, and their nutritional value.

Living with gluten intolerance requires some changes in diet and lifestyle, and for a better understanding, here are some important tips to follow:

  • Read and educate yourself more about celiac disease and gluten sensitivity and the foods that cause it.
  • Prepare food at home to ensure meals are gluten-free.
  • Ensure a sufficient amount of gluten-free food products are available at home, such as pasta, bread, and biscuits, etc.
  • Consult your doctor to get appropriate guidance regarding a suitable diet for you.
  • Avoid cross-contamination of food and drinks, and use your utensils and cookware.
  • Be cautious when eating out or visiting restaurants.

Allowed Foods:

  • Legumes and vegetables
  • Meats, poultry, and fish
  • Seeds and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms
  • Dairy products and derivatives

Allowed Grain Types:

  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • White corn
  • Soybeans
  • Tapioca (cassava roots)

Allowed Flour Types:

  • Rice flour
  • Soy flour
  • Cornflour
  • Bean flour
  • Millet flour

Oats are naturally gluten-free but can be contaminated during production with wheat or barley.


A gluten-free diet is a lifelong necessity for those with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. Adhering to it leads to a reduction in symptoms and complications of the disease.

Share the article

article Date


Related blogs

Not Found Blogs

Log in to your account

Enter your valid email address and password to log in to your account


Don’t have account ? Create one

Create a new account

Enter your correct email address and complete a few easy steps to register your account

Already have account ? Login